Caad12 Disc BB conversion

Hello everyone,

as hinted at in the picture thread, I’m looking at making the conversion from the BB30A in this frame to something else to get rid of the creaking.

Before i pull the trigger I’m interested in a few things that the google couldn’t quite help me with:

1. Is there any obvious (or maybe nonobvious) downside to doing this that I’m not considering?

2. I’m looking at getting the Wheelsmfg thread together BB for budget reasons. Does anyone have experience with this BB and know whether it might interfere with the brake hose and shifter cables in the BB?

3. and finally, If I remember this one episode of Nerd Alert correctly, I don’t need any additional spacers or anything if want to install a Shimano crankset, correct?

I appreciate any help I can get with this :slight_smile:

1. Mostly no. A thread-together BB will stress a frame slightly more than a regular pressfit BB but it’s not significant.

2. I’m not a mechanic but I’ve used thread together BBs, my friends have used them, plenty of bikes come stock with them. You can google caad12 specifically to see if there are any compatibility issues but I highly doubt it. It’s a 2 piece design and traditional pressfit bottom brackets have weather-sealing sleeves too.

3. Right. Hollowtech 2 should work out the box. The left crankarm slides on the spindle to take up any slack.

I would recommend trying to stretch to a BBinfinite. There is a significant jump in stiffness. They even have an install video for your bike: CAAD 12 Creaking Issues Solved with BBInfinite - YouTube

1 Like

I switched out the BB on my CAAD12 disc, as the creaking was doing my head in as well. This allowed me to install hollowtech II cranks, which match the rest of the groupset. I’ve been pretty happy with it since, creaking has stopped.