Campagnolo 12 speed chain quick link?

I’m just about to receive my new 12 speed Record group set and have realised that Campy don’t do a quick link on their chains. I’ve been waxing my chains for a few years now and was hoping to continue doing so with the new set up, but that means being able to remove the chain.

I’ve seen a video of someone using a SRAM Eagle 12 speed quick link and was wondering if anyone here has any experience of running your Campy groupset like this, or is it better to stick with Campy’s pin and peen method?

use a 12 speed KMC Missing Link, dependable and can be reused twice.

2 Likes

SRAM Eagle power link. There’s endless threads claiming you’ll destroy your drivetrain and void your warranty on the various Campy sites using any quick link ( Redirecting... ) and there’s a good explanation of the pros and cons here ( Chain quick links: A guide to easy connection - CyclingTips ) and here ( https://zerofrictioncycling.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/Master-Link-FAQ-Guide.pdf ) but, basically, SRAM Eagle - the 12 speed MTB ones, not the flat top road ones- are the closest fit. I’ve used them just fine for waxing, replacing after 3 uses, with no noticeable noise or wear. I do find Campy a little more susceptible than Shimano to having the 12 and 11 getting plugged up with wax and making the last shift into 11 a little sluggish. I’ve stopped breaking in a new chain in those cogs and scrape the cogs with a toothpick now and then and the problem has stopped.

2 Likes

As MGBeatrice highlights above - The official Campagnolo advice is that using a quick link - any quick link - will negate the warranty on not only the chain but all parts of the transmission train, so I’d think carefully before you take this option.

For info, my business, Velotech Cycling Ltd, has oversight of warranty and technical education services to Campagnolo SRL in the UK - so this is “from the horse’s mouth” information, not supposition or urban myth …