Cargo Bikes

I’m looking to get an e-cargo bike to help reduce my reliance on cars. Does anyone have any experience with a Tern GSD vs a Bakefiets like the Bullitt or a more traditional style Amsterdam Bike? I have two kids and would need to transport them around in addition to getting groceries. I know I would prefer a gates belt drive and internal hub. I’m more interested in the interactivity with the kids on the bike, as in having them behind me VS in front. Thank you

In my experience having load at the back is always more annoying and less stable than at the front.

I’ve been using a Triobike Cargo for three years now to do daycare dropoff / pickup, groceries, park trips, etc. Not a true car replacement as I’ve never owned my own car, just used public transit / carshare. Montreal has good (exceptional by North American standards) options for both.

The bike was a fantastic purchase. The kids have a blast. They’re now 4 and almost 1, and can sit side-by-side in the front. Sometimes I throw on a rack and paniers and go camping with the 4 year old. I have friends who do the same with a longtail and seem to manage fine, though they do get whacked in the butt sometimes. =D

Other than the steering system, all the parts are totally standard (groupset is a mix of shimano mountain bike parts, mostly SLX 11-speed), so it’s great to work on. I also added a front wheel hub motor (Grin All-Axle) controlled by a thumb throttle and tweaked so it feels like you should be pedalling (motor limited to 300w with 1 second ramp up time). This way I can convert between e-bike and regular bike just by swapping the front wheel and mounting/removing the battery. My wife wanted the e-bike, but it was important for me that all the electronic side be modular. I have full confidence that, barring any catastrophic failures, the bike will age well and I’ll use it often even when the kids are too big; not so for the electronics.