Cartridge hub bearing play

I’ve been riding cup and cone hubs for over 10 years so I’ve always adjusted ‘em to have no detectable play at the rim when installed on bike with QR skewers tight. Now I’m riding disc/through-axle with cartridge bearings (EZO bearing) hubs and notice the teeniest bit of play at the rims when checking over this new bike.
Is it the case that many cartridge bearing wheel sets have a minute amount of lateral play at the rim just based on the architecture of the cartridge bearing itself? They spin awesome and feel smooth out on the road, but having just spent years on Dura Ace wheels that can be adjusted to 0 bearing ‘slop’ this tiny bit of play is kinda’ alien to me.
Is it normal?

No, it isn’t. The hubs should have a preload adjustment to remove this.

preload adjustment on cartridge bearing hubs? where?
I had some Mavic Ksyrium SL’s that weren’t cup/cone back in the day that had some kind of preload adjustment, but that seemed like an anomaly.

the kind of lateral play I’m talking about on my current cartridge bearing wheels is absolutely minimal, you can’t measure it, only feel it if you’re paying attention.
is it normal?

I had this play in a DT240s hub which was only minimal (but annoying) for a while. Eventually the the bearing under the star ratchet needled replacing so I took it to my mechanic as I didn’t have the appropriate tool. He replaced the bearing and the lateral play disappeared. This was a QR hub but I assumed it was a worn bearing causing it.

That Mavic system was a great design - capable of very fine adjustments on the bike with the supplied plastic ‘C’ spanner.

1 Like

It depends on the brand and make of hub if the cartridge bearings have a manual preload system or not. Pre-loading really should only be required for angular contact or cup and cone bearings.