Choosing the best bike possible on a budget

Hi guys,

I need some advice. I’m a high school student, so I don’t have a lot of money to spend on bikes. The thing I’ve been doing is buying bikes from abroad, servicing them and then selling them at a local market for a profit. Using this method I now have about 1900€ to spend on a road bike. My goal is to simply feel good on the bike - ride fast. I’m the out of shape KOM hunting amateur racer type :smiley:. Are there any particularly good models on the used market to go for?

I have the opportunity to buy a Cervelo S5 with old Ultegra DI2 (6770) and Dura-Ace tubular wheels for 1500€ - I could sell off the wheels and buy something more modern (tubeless). Do you think there’s any better option? I’m a fairly heavy rider, so I don’t think I have the right to do the weight-weenie thing :smiley:.

1 Like

I’d go used Rim brake aluminum frameset (Allez sprint, CAAD13, Ultimate AL SLX)105- R7000 group and spring for some Elite Marvel rim brake carbon wheels if you want to race on a budget. I think that takes you €300 over but I used the Allez Sprint as a benchmark for a used frameset and those things have tremendous re-sale value and are outrageously good frames.

3 Likes

If you can manage it on your budget, I’d recommend getting a bike fit so you can understand what size frame will suit you best and what adjustments you might need to make to what’s available to you on the used market. I can’t speak for the quality of the various phone apps that do this now but there might be others on the forum that can - it might be a reasonable option.

My experience with a well cared for 2001 Trek 2300 with an Ultegra groupset was great. Only issue really was the frame was probably a little big for me.

And there’s really nothing wrong with running tubes, they’re cheap, plentiful and effective :slight_smile:

2 Likes