Gravel Tyre Recommendations

Hi CT forum.

I’m new to Gravel having just picked up my Trek Checkpoint SL5 in April. But as I’ve been commuting and gravel riding on it, I’m finding my first set of rubber has outlived its welcome. I have some Bontrager GR1s which were nice and supple and grippy. But I found them I got a lot of tiny punctures right on the crown. I’ve read similar reports from other users of those tyres on line. (That said they do also look really nice on my bike so they’re still an option for me).

So far I’ve read that the Panaracer Gravel Kings seem well proven. The Maxxis Ramblers also seem to rate well although some say they’re a bit heavy.

In terms of use, I’m not racing so don’t need anything fast. Mostly just commuting to work on bike path, and the odd weekend on hard packed trails. Pretty rare I’m getting into anything loose which would require nobblies.

Any other experience or recommendations would be really welcome

I have Maxxis Ramblers in 700x50 (120 TPI, EXO/TR) and am generally happy with them. I haven’t had any flats and the traction is good. They are definitely more of an off-road tire although the roll fairly well in spite of that. I weighed them at just under 600 grams each.

I ride a fair amount of single track and they work very well for that. If I was mostly riding on pavement and smoother gravel I would look for something lighter. The Gravel Kings are available in a wide range of treads and would be appealing, and I’ve also heard good things about the Specialized Pathfinder.

I am rather new to gravel and I don’t have experience on any any other relevant tires yet.

1 Like

If you ride with others, please don’t…those things are brutal on your riding companions, constantly flinging pieces of gravel into their faces. But they are very good tires.

But the answer you are looking for is Goodyear Connector Ultimates. Trust me and thank me later. Best damn gravel tire I have ever ridden.

3 Likes