Helmet length-to-width ratios #askanerd

This is part tech question and part general request - it’s perhaps too long for the tech mailbag but I assume others have the same problem.

James wrote a great article years ago about the issues with helmet sizing, where he calculated the length-to-width ratio for different models in the same size. As someone with a similarly oblong head, I really appreciated that thinking. A lot of helmets leave large gaps on the side of my head, where for other people it’s the opposite problem. Apart from comfort, I assume a poor fit can have safety implications too.

I’ve been using a Kask Protone for a few years and it’s a decent fit for me. A medium is perfect in front-to-back length, though still a bit wider than my head on the sides. Unfortunately it’s also not ventilated enough for truly hot summer days.

CT has a nicely written helmet guide but even that sends some mixed signals. One Giro helmet is praised for fitting a narrow head well, yet Giro was the roundest brand in that old article by James. That matches my experience with them, though I’ve only tried a few models.

Fit is a personal thing and obviously there’s no substitute for trying a helmet on. That said, would CT consider including length and width measurements (or ratios) in helmet reviews? Like publishing stack and reach instead of t-shirt sizing, it seems like an easy way for people to filter out the models that definitely won’t work – and to maybe nudge the industry in a positive direction.

Personally, I’m looking at the Abus Airbreaker, MET Trenta and Limar Air Pro as highly vented but still aero-ish lids, though finding models to try locally is challenging where I am. If anyone has thoughts on which does or doesn’t fit an oblong noggin, I’d be grateful to hear them. (Other options welcome too!)

3 Likes