How much power can a big rider expect to generate?

Question for the clysdales out there.
I’m around 200lbs. I was a competitive cyclist years ago (pre-power meters) and had a racing weight around 185lbs.
I am new to zwifting and use 4iiii power meters. I love the quick races for a workout after work. Today I did a 30k race and averaged 305 watts with a w/kg of around 3.4.
My overall power was around average for cat A, was in the top 10% for cat b and was the highest in c. My w/kg is around average for group b.
If I’d like to improve, I can either increase my power or reduce my weight. I’m working on shedimg a few pounds. My question is, how much power can I expect to gain by working harder? Any big riders out there working to increase their power? How hard did you have to work at it and for what gains?

1 Like

Have you seen this before?

7 Likes

When I started cycling seriously again after several years off, I weighed about 85kg. I now weigh 71kg.

After about 6 months back into it, weighing around 80kg, I set power pbs for 1, 2 and 4 minutes that I’m yet to better.

My w/kg has improved substantially, and my power pbs for 5 mins plus are all set at around my current weight, but I can’t match those shorter duration numbers from when I was heavier.

The likely explanation is muscle loss. Just about every overfeeding study has shown that even in sedentary individuals, some calorific excess is used to create more lean tissue. Conversely (at least without the use of anabolic steroids) it is almost impossible to lose significant amounts of fat without losing some lean tissue. That’s not to say it can’t be regained later, but that’s why, I suspect.

2 Likes