Noodle making you slower/faster

Continuing the discussion from Modern Cyclocross Frame vs. Relatively-Retro Pure Road:

Why would a noodle (a flexible bike frame) slow you down? As an Engineer I have some serious problems with this “general” understanding. Could it actually be that a noodle tailored to you would make you faster? Something Jan Heine suggests.

A bike frame flexes, totally true. Some more than others. But is that necessarily a bad thing? Yes it requires your input, but where is that energy going? Some energy is stored into the frame and some is lost (heat) due to damping charactersitics of the material. While moving back to it’s original shape the stored energy can be put into forward motion. See video from GCN below.

From what I’ve found the damping coefficient of metals aren’t high. If one doesn’t deform the material. Thus metals good at storing energy and not good at turning that energy into heat.

Then how would the frame make you faster? I think it has something to do with your power being applied over a broader range. It could even be that the energy you just put into the frame with your left foot is put back into the wheel while your right foot is at it’s dead point. Thus making your pedal efficiency higher.

Jan Heine - better bike frames and “planing”: Triathlon Forum: Slowtwitch Forums

Damping
Damping Coefficient - Calculation, Values, FAQ (punchlistzero.com)
Damping capacity - Wikipedia
Documentation of damping capacity of metallic, ceramic and metal-matrix composite materials (utexas.edu)

1 Like

I recently built a bike with very low “drive train rigidity” but standard levels of torsional rigidity : it has 3mm wide carbon cables where the chainstays should be so the rear end visibly flexes forward when I pedal, while the “down tube” is 60mm diameter so the headtube and seat tubes don’t twist out of plane any more than does a standard frame.

Complete_2