Replacing Pedals

I’m going to replace my Shimano r500 pedals. They have like 5 years or more.

It’s worth upgrading to r7000 o r8000 pedals?

I’m an amateur, social rides, I train 4-5 times per week and do around 7000-8000 km per year.

1 Like

IMO r8000 pedals last longer, my last set got about 67,000km before the drive side bearings gave up the ghost. The replacement set is at 19,000km (so far).
Previously I’d used 105 pedals and they’d last about 45,000km.
My son has R500 pedals on his bike and while he does far fewer km, I get the feeling they aren’t built to last.

I must admit I’m fairly shoddy at servicing pedals :wink:

2 Likes

Shimano pedals are the business. The exception is the ones with the plastic cleat platform. It wears down quickly. If you have Shimano pedals with the metal platform, they should last many 10,000kms. They are serviceable too (with the plastic Shimano tool), but I’ve never really found that very necessary unless you’re riding through water.

You can upgrade to R8000 etc. but you will go exactly 0.000 km/h faster

3 Likes

When you say “worth upgrading” how do you define being worth it? Better pedals will be lighter and a bit fancier but SPD-SL is SPD-SL so they’re not really going to offer you anything more than that in terms of function on the day to day riding basis. If you can afford it and want something lighter and fancier, go for it. I’ve been on the same pair of PD-R9100’s since 2017 and they’re still faultless, just service them before and after every winter and they’ve been entirely drama free… That said, if I was riding a much cheaper set of pedals I don’t expect it would impact my riding one bit.

Shimano have basically nailed the design where the spindle is well protected from the elements. Very little goes wrong with them in my experience.

3 Likes

Get 105 pedals, only grab the Ultegra ones if there’s a good deal about and they don’t cost much more. There’s literally no performance difference between the two.