what bike should I get?

I am currently a college student and plan to use a bike for getting around campus. As far as I know, I will be using paved roads to get around using the bike. My only problem is that I do not know what type of bike to get. I am a male and 5’6’', and my budget is around $250-500. What bike should I get for just commuting around campus.

Twin turbo Hyabusa. Just kidding. If it’s a flat campus and you’re going short distances just get the State Core line Wu-Tang Clan + a Kryptonite New York Lock.

3 Likes

If all you are doing is riding around campus, a used bike might be a good choice. Some of the new bikes in that price range have some pretty questionable parts and build quality, so an older mountain bike or hybrid will work well. I would actively avoid anything with rear suspension, and front suspension won’t do much for you either.

It can be a bit challenging to find something in decent shape that won’t need much time or money, though.

3 Likes

Agree, I work on a pretty flat University campus & see plenty of these around. Another option is to see if there is a nearby co-op, they often have helpful staff and can set you up with something (& teach some basic maintenance as well). Bike-shaped objects from Wal-Mart, Target, etc. (to speak of US chains here) with ‘suspension’ are not a good idea.

1 Like

Dear Jann, thanks for your suggestions. I searched on google and found a blog something like Bikes for College Student. Can you suggest me which one will be better?

ref:

1. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01FIKAIWG/ref=as_li_ss_tl?
    2.> gearbikesreview

That bike from Amazon is a poor buy. A cheap frame with no-name components and unknown but probably poor build quality. The ‘review’ site you linked to is essentially advertising.